Desk Trials

ARCHIVE / Meetings & email

Fathom keeps transcripts free and sells the summary layer

Fathom's own pricing page shows recording and transcription are free forever, while action items and cross-team search are paid.

Preserved retrospective record

Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

Visual for this record: Fathom keeps transcripts free and sells the summary layer
Visual published by cdn.prod.website-files.com, shown for identification of the record. Credit: cdn.prod.website-files.comPreserved source visual · owner review pending

The setup

Fathom is a meeting recorder and notetaker that, like its category peers, needs either a calendar connection or a manual invite to a call, with a choice, per its own site, of a visible meeting bot or a bot-free capture mode still in beta. Deciding what to pay for is unusually legible here: Fathom's own pricing page, retrieved 16 September 2026, lays out a free-forever individual tier next to two paid tiers with no separate demo or sales call required to see the feature list.

What the documents show

The pricing page states the free plan includes unlimited recordings and transcriptions, a choice of bot-free or bot capture, instant AI call summaries, and clips, playlists, and search across a user's own calls, with no listed cap on the number of meetings. The next tier, Premium, priced at 20 dollars per user per month or 16 dollars with an annual commitment, adds everything from Free plus advanced call summaries, AI-generated action items, a conversational meeting assistant, and a custom meeting bot. A Team plan, 19 or 15 dollars per user monthly with a two-user minimum, adds global search and playlists across a whole team's meetings rather than one person's. Fathom's own homepage adds SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, and HIPAA compliance claims, plus two self-reported figures: that 95 percent of users say Fathom helps them stay present in meetings, and that teams save six or more hours per member weekly on follow-ups, neither attributed to a named survey or methodology.

The friction

The generous free tier is a genuine setup-cost data point because it isolates what a team actually pays for: not recording or transcription, unlimited on the free plan, but the summarization quality, action-item extraction, and cross-team search behind the paywall. The two unattributed statistics on the homepage are the clearest friction in the sources themselves — stated as fact on a marketing page with no linked study, so they should be read as Fathom's own claim about its own product rather than independently measured figures.

What changed in the work

Before a free tier this complete existed among notetakers, a team typically had to commit to a paid plan just to learn whether AI summaries were useful. What the documents support is that Fathom lets that evaluation happen free, indefinitely, and charges once a team wants the assistant to act more — generating action items or answering questions across calls, not just recording them. Labelled as editorial, the kept-or-dropped decision most teams face is narrower than notetaker or not: whether the paid tier's action items and assistant earn their monthly cost over what the free plan's summaries already do.

  • Is the team actually using the free plan's summaries, or does it need the paid tier's action items?
  • Do the vendor's hours-saved and user-satisfaction figures matter to this team's own decision, given no methodology is disclosed?
  • Does the two-user minimum on the Team plan change the math versus two individual Premium seats?

Fathom's own pricing page is unusually transparent about what is free forever; it is less transparent about how its two headline statistics were produced.

Sources & verification

Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.

  1. Fathom PricingSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16

    States what the free plan includes versus the paid Premium and Team tiers, and their per-user pricing.

  2. Fathom AI Notetaker homepageSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16

    States compliance certifications and two self-reported statistics about user satisfaction and hours saved, without disclosed methodology.

Continue the workflow

  1. Review a shared-inbox draft without colliding or sending early

    A small-team shared-inbox routine that prevents duplicate replies, context leakage, approval confusion, and accidental sends.

  2. Reconcile meeting actions across a recurring series

    A method for resolving duplicate, changed, and conflicting action items across recurring meeting notes, transcripts, and task systems.

  3. Write an asynchronous status update from source records

    A compact status-update format for freelancers and small teams that readers can verify without scheduling another meeting.

  4. Otter's meeting-notice email is a toggle, not a default

    Otter's own settings documentation shows which recording notices are opt-in and which an admin can force.