Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

The setup
Tabnine is one of the older AI code-completion products, predating the current chatbot-driven coding-assistant wave, and its architecture documentation leads with a choice most competitors treat as an afterthought: SaaS, virtual-private-cloud, or fully on-premises. The on-premises path runs the whole Tabnine cluster, inference service included, on a Kubernetes cluster the customer controls, inside the customer's own data center. That is the setup this note tracks: what standing up that on-prem cluster requires, and what stays inside the building once it is running.
What the documents show
The private-installation documentation states this option is offered to Tabnine Enterprise customers as either a VPC deployment on AWS, GCP or Azure, or a genuinely on-premises one, deployable in a fully air-gapped environment. Tabnine's own staff have no access to a customer's private-installation servers once deployed, though its professional-services team works with the customer to set it up and push updates. The hardware-requirements page lists minimum specs by user count, from 64 CPUs and 10 TB of SSD storage for up to 200 users, up to 96 CPUs and 32 TB for over 2,000, Tabnine's own published minimum, not an independent benchmark.
The friction
The same requirements page lists a required outbound connection to Tabnine's own container registry, at a named host and port, plus an optional connection to a logs gateway. Nothing explains how a deployment marketed as fully air-gapped satisfies that documented requirement to reach an external registry, a gap between the marketing claim and the infrastructure list for anyone planning a genuinely offline install. There is a separate constraint on model choice: for private installation, the architecture page states only the vendor's own Tabnine Protected model is currently available, while a related hybrid tier can additionally reach outside models such as Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini. On-prem buys code privacy at the price of a shorter model list than a cloud subscriber gets, an editorial read of the trade-off.
What changed in the work
For a team barred from sending code to a third-party cloud, the documented on-prem path is the difference between using an AI coding assistant and not using one. It does not support a claim that this removes all external dependency: registry access, an update cadence and vendor involvement stay part of the picture even after the cluster sits inside the firewall. Whether the hardware burden is worth it depends on team size and threat model, which the vendor's pages do not evaluate; that trade-off is kept or dropped case by case, not settled by the documentation.
- Does the compliance requirement actually demand air-gapping, or would a VPC deployment already satisfy it?
- Who on the team will own the Kubernetes cluster and its storage once it is running?
- Which model list does the chosen tier actually unlock, and does it match what the team needs day to day?
Tabnine's own documents make a specific case for on-premises AI coding as a real option, not a marketing slide, but the same documents are the source of its costs: a named external host, a restricted model roster, and a hardware bill that scales with headcount.
Sources & verification
Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.
- Architecture | Tabnine DocsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
States Tabnine's on-premises deployment runs on a customer-controlled Kubernetes cluster and that private installations are limited to the Tabnine Protected model.
- Private Installation | Tabnine DocsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
States private installation can run as VPC or on-premises, including a fully air-gapped environment, with no vendor access to customer servers post-deployment.
- Additional Requirements & Features | Tabnine DocsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Lists minimum on-premises hardware specs by user count and the required outbound connection to Tabnine's container registry and optional logs gateway.
Continue the workflow
- Reconcile a spreadsheet before writing the story around it
Check an imported or transformed spreadsheet before using its figures in analysis or client work.
- Validate the SQL answer before trusting the sentence
Review an analytical SQL query safely before using its output in a report or decision.
- Review an AI-assisted code change as a change, not a speed claim
Decide whether an AI-assisted patch is safe and maintainable without treating generation speed as evidence of quality.
- An open coding assistant leaves the model choice to the team
Continue's own docs show model choice, including local models, is real, but agent mode still favors models with confirmed tool support.