Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

The setup
Single sign-on lets one identity provider, like Okta or Entra ID, control who can reach every connected app, so a small IT team can add or remove one employee once instead of hunting through separate logins per tool. It is widely treated as a baseline security control rather than a premium extra — which is the entire argument behind a community-maintained list of vendors that charge more for it anyway.
What the documents show
The SSO Wall of Shame, maintained on GitHub by a contributor going by robchahin under the stated mission 'security shouldn't be a premium feature,' lists AI-adjacent workplace tools among its entries: Notion's recorded entry, dated 2023-10-15, shows a base plan at $8 per user per month against a $15 SSO-enabled tier, an 88% increase; Airtable's entry shows a 500% jump from $10 to $60. Checking the vendor directly, as the site's own FAQ invites, matters: Notion's current pricing page, retrieved 16 September 2026, lists its Plus plan at $10 per member per month without SSO and its Business plan, which includes SAML SSO, at $20 — a larger gap in absolute terms than the list's 2023 snapshot recorded.
The friction
The friction is documented in both places at once. Sso.tax's own FAQ acknowledges vendors can 'submit a PR to this page' if an entry is stale, which is itself an admission that entries lag real pricing — exactly what the Notion comparison shows. And the underlying complaint is not really about a single line-item: the tier that includes SSO also bundles unrelated features a small team may not need, so the real cost of 'turning on' a mandated security control is often an entire plan upgrade, not an add-on toggle.
What changed in the work
For a small team adopting an AI-assisted tool like Notion's databases alongside a real identity requirement, the setup cost is concrete and checkable: budgeting for SSO means budgeting for the next plan tier, and that gap should be verified against the vendor's own current pricing page rather than a crowdsourced list, however well-intentioned, since the underlying numbers move.
- Which plan tier does your identity provider requirement actually put you in, once SSO is a hard requirement?
- Have you checked the vendor's current pricing page, or are you relying on a list that could be a year stale?
- What unrelated features are you paying for just to reach the tier that includes SSO?
None of this says any one vendor's pricing is unfair; plan tiers bundle many things besides identity controls. What the list and the pricing page together establish is that the gap between 'has SSO' and 'doesn't' is real, documented, and worth pricing out before committing a team to a tool.
Sources & verification
Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.
- SSO Wall of ShameSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
The crowdsourced record of which vendors, including Notion and Airtable, gate SSO behind a higher plan tier, with per-entry dated price snapshots.
- Notion pricingSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Notion's own current plan prices, used to confirm and update the list's older snapshot of the SSO-tier price gap.
Continue the workflow
- Audit knowledge-base access with allowed and denied tests
A minimum-rights test for a small team that checks both useful access and denied access across a shared knowledge base.
- Calculate the total cost of a workflow, not just the subscription
Compare a manual process and an automated alternative without relying on volatile plan prices.
- Run a vendor exit drill before the exit is urgent
Find out whether a team can leave a workflow vendor without losing data, behavior, access, or business continuity.
- Notion's Autofill turns a table column into an AI setup decision
Notion's help documentation, read on 16 September 2026, sets Autofill's plan requirements, run triggers, and its own accuracy warning.