Desk Trials

ARCHIVE / Research & notes

A citation checker labels a claim as supported with no audit trail

Scite classifies citations as supporting or contrasting but its own pages do not document how, or by whom, that call is made.

Preserved retrospective record

Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

Visual for this record: A citation checker labels a claim as supported with no audit trail
Visual published by image.thum.io, shown for identification of the record. Credit: image.thum.ioPreserved source visual · owner review pending

The setup

Scite is built around one specific check: whether a widely cited paper's finding has held up as later research responded to it. Scite's homepage describes 'Smart Citations' that 'show how later research has supported, challenged, or discussed a paper, claim, method, journal, author, institution, or funder,' built on 'direct agreements with Wiley, SAGE, and 33+ more publishers' plus the open-access corpus, and states the company is 'now part of Research Solutions,' having indexed more than 1.6 billion citations. Getting access requires an account: Scite's pricing page lists a free 'Connect' tier with 25 monthly credits for use inside chat assistants, a Basic plan at $20 a month billed yearly with full search and 250 monthly credits, and a Pro plan at $50 a month adding API access and 2,500 credits, with a seven-day free trial on the paid tiers.

What the documents show

The homepage states that 'every answer is grounded in real papers, never generated or hallucinated' — a claim about the product's design, not a published error rate or independent audit. Neither the homepage nor the pricing page retrieved here describes the classification step itself as fully automated or as involving human review before a citation is labeled supporting or contrasting; the pages simply state the outcome, not the method behind it. The pricing page's credit system ties every Smart Citation lookup and chat query to a metered allowance rather than unlimited use once signed in.

The friction

A free account gets 25 credits a month, and the vendor does not state on these pages how many credits one citation report or one assistant query consumes, leaving a new user to discover the ceiling by hitting it. The 'never generated or hallucinated' language is a stronger claim than the measured, model-by-model hallucination counts some competing tools publish, and there is no comparable number here to check it against. The ownership note — Scite folded into Research Solutions — is disclosed on the same page but not explained further, which matters for anyone deciding whether to build a workflow around the service long term.

What changed in the work

For someone trying to judge whether a cited claim still stands, Scite's stated design collapses a task that once meant manually pulling every citing paper into a single classified list, which is what the vendor's own pages describe it doing. Whether that list is trustworthy enough to skip the manual check is not something these pages settle; the claim of zero hallucination is the company's own, not an outside party's.

  • Does the citation tool disclose how a supporting or contrasting label was decided, or only the label itself?
  • How many lookups does the free tier actually allow before a paid plan becomes necessary?
  • Would the classification survive a manual check of the two or three citations that matter most to the argument?

Reading the classification as a lead worth checking, rather than a settled verdict, keeps the time saved without asking a metered, unaudited label to carry more weight than the vendor itself claims for it.

Sources & verification

Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.

  1. Scite: AI for Research (homepage)Source date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16

    Describes Smart Citations, publisher agreements, citation index size, and the 'never generated or hallucinated' claim, as read on 16 September 2026.

  2. Scite pricing pageSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16

    Gives the account tiers, credit allowances, and trial terms required to set up and use Scite.

Continue the workflow

  1. Turn a research question into an evidence table that survives disagreement

    A reproducible way for a solo operator or small team to collect evidence, compare conflicting sources, and hand the work to another reader without losing provenance.

  2. Check PDF extraction before you trust the summary

    A quick, repeatable quality check for deciding whether PDF text, tables, and OCR output are reliable enough to feed into notes or summaries.

  3. Hand off a citation library without handing over a puzzle

    A practical Zotero handoff method that preserves attachments and meaning while making the collection understandable to a teammate.

  4. Elicit measured how often its own summaries invent claims

    The vendor's own hallucination study puts a number on a risk most literature-review tools only gesture at.