Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

The setup
monday.com sells seats on a work-management board, and AI blocks are the pieces a user drops into that board rather than a standalone product with its own signup flow. The vendor's own support article on AI blocks lists where they live: inside AI-powered column actions, the automation center, and the workflow builder, covering actions such as assigning labels, summarizing text, improving text, detecting sentiment, translating text, extracting information from files, and a custom block with an optional web search mode. None of that requires a separate app; it requires an account where AI capabilities are already enabled.
What the documents show
The support article states plainly that triggering an AI block action uses eight credits, and a companion AI Credits article confirms AI blocks consume exactly eight credits per action, while other capabilities on the same account, monday sidekick, monday vibe, AI Notetaker, and monday agents, are billed on entirely different scales, from roughly ten credits for a simple sidekick message up to 120 credits per meeting hour for the Notetaker. Credits are described as a single unit of measure that sits on top of, and separate from, the per-seat plan price.
The friction
The AI Credits article discloses that all actions on the same item within a 24-hour window count once, but subitems are billed independently of their parent item, a distinction a team building automations across many subitems could easily miss until a credit balance runs low. Admins get notified at 80 percent and 100 percent of the account's credit limit, and some AI capabilities keep running briefly past the limit before usage pauses, which the documentation frames as a grace period rather than a hard cutoff. Buying more credits is a separate purchase from upgrading the seat plan.
What changed in the work
Before AI blocks, summarizing a long status update column or translating a form response meant copying text out of the board into another tool. The documented change is that the action now runs inside the column menu or an automation step, without leaving the board. Whether that is faster is not something either support article measures; what the documentation does establish is that the action is metered separately from the license that already lets a user open the board.
- Does the team's plan tier cap how many active AI-powered automations can run at once, separate from the credit balance?
- Who on the account gets the 80-percent usage alert, and do they have purchasing authority to buy more credits?
- Are subitems being billed as separate actions in a workflow the team assumed was priced per parent item?
monday.com's own documentation draws a clean line between the seat a person is billed for and the credits an AI block spends, and that line is worth tracing before a team wires AI actions into a workflow that runs against thousands of items. An eight-credit action sounds trivial until it repeats across every item and subitem in a large board.
Sources & verification
Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.
- AI blocksSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
monday's own support article listing where AI blocks appear on a board and stating that triggering an action uses eight credits.
- AI CreditsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
monday's own article confirming AI blocks cost eight credits per action, how that compares with other AI capabilities, and how credit limits and top-ups work separately from seat billing.
Continue the workflow
- Build a reusable writing brief before polishing the prompt
A compact, reusable specification for commissioning consistent writing without relying on a clever one-off prompt.
- Review the diff for altered facts, not just improved prose
A practical review pass for comparing document versions and finding factual changes hidden inside editorial revisions.
- Hand off an accessible document with structure intact
A human-centered final check for document structure, descriptive links, image alternatives, and usable delivery across formats.
- ClickUp prices its AI assistant as a second subscription on top
ClickUp's own pricing page adds Brain AI or Everything AI as a per-seat charge stacked on every plan tier, not gated to the top one.