Desk Trials

ARCHIVE / Writing & documents

ClickUp prices its AI assistant as a second subscription on top

ClickUp's own pricing page adds Brain AI or Everything AI as a per-seat charge stacked on every plan tier, not gated to the top one.

Preserved retrospective record

Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

Visual published with the cited source for this record: ClickUp prices its AI assistant as a second subscription on top
Visual published with the cited source, shown for identification of the record. Credit: clickup.comPreserved source visual · owner review pending

The setup

ClickUp markets itself as the app meant to replace several point tools at once, and its ClickUp AI product page extends that pitch to AI directly, branding the assistant Brain with the tagline one AI to replace them all. Getting access does not require a new account: ClickUp AI sits on top of the existing base plans, Free Forever, Unlimited, Business, and Enterprise, each already priced and sold separately from AI. A workspace upgrades the whole workspace at once; an individual member cannot turn AI on alone.

What the documents show

ClickUp's own pricing page lists the base tiers first, Unlimited at seven dollars and Business at twelve dollars per user per month billed yearly, then a separate AI pricing section: Brain AI at nine dollars per user per month and Everything AI, described as the full agentic suite, at twenty-eight dollars per user per month, each layered on top of whichever base plan a workspace already pays for. Both AI tiers also draw on a shared pool of AI Super Credits, sold separately at ten dollars per 10,000 credits, for agents, automations, and image generation beyond what a plan includes.

The friction

The add-on is priced identically in structure across every base tier rather than reserved for the top plan, but the pricing page's own fair-use language signals the arrangement is not fixed indefinitely: it states that if AI providers raise their rates, ClickUp will adjust pricing gradually, while promising to pass along savings when it optimizes costs. That is a vendor commitment to future price movement, not a guarantee, and it sits alongside usage limits on the entry AI tier that the page notes are subject to a fair use policy rather than a stated numeric cap.

What changed in the work

The documented shift is structural rather than functional: AI writing and summarization become a recurring per-seat charge stacked on the existing per-seat charge, rather than a one-time feature unlock. For a team already paying for Business to get automation and reporting limits, adding Brain AI at nine dollars a seat is an additive cost the pricing page states outright, not an upsell buried in a higher plan tier a team would have upgraded to anyway.

  • Does the workspace need Everything AI's agentic features, or would the entry Brain AI tier cover the writing and summarization tasks actually in use?
  • How fast is the shared AI Super Credits pool depleting relative to the per-seat allowance each plan includes?
  • If AI provider costs rise, has the workspace budgeted for the gradual price adjustment the pricing page reserves the right to make?

ClickUp's pricing page treats AI as a second subscription riding on the first, priced the same way at every tier rather than gated to Enterprise, which is a more transparent structure than a hidden AI tax but still a second bill. A team's consolidation math needs to include both the base seat price and whichever AI tier it takes on.

Sources & verification

Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.

  1. ClickUp AISource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16

    ClickUp's own product page describing Brain as one AI meant to replace multiple point tools, part of the site's consolidation pitch.

  2. ClickUp Pricing and PlansSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16

    ClickUp's own pricing page listing base plan prices and separate Brain AI and Everything AI add-on prices plus AI Super Credits, as the page read on 16 September 2026.

Continue the workflow

  1. Build a reusable writing brief before polishing the prompt

    A compact, reusable specification for commissioning consistent writing without relying on a clever one-off prompt.

  2. Review the diff for altered facts, not just improved prose

    A practical review pass for comparing document versions and finding factual changes hidden inside editorial revisions.

  3. Hand off an accessible document with structure intact

    A human-centered final check for document structure, descriptive links, image alternatives, and usable delivery across formats.

  4. AI blocks on monday.com are billed in credits, not seats

    monday's own support articles show AI blocks cost eight credits per action, metered apart from the per-seat plan a workspace already pays.