Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

The setup
Craft built its reputation on a document editor people choose for how the page looks, block by block, so adding an assistant meant deciding how far into that structure the assistant could reach. Craft's own help article on using Craft Assistant states it works at both document level and space level, inside documents, tasks, the calendar, collections, and the code editor, on macOS, iOS, Windows, and web. Two modes govern editing on macOS and iOS: Explore, which proposes changes and waits for approval, and Execute, which applies them directly; the documentation notes Windows and web currently offer the assistant without full Execute-mode editing.
What the documents show
So the premise that the assistant only edits a whole document or a selection undersells what the documentation describes: it can also work across an entire space, answering a query like finding every document about a topic or every open task, not just editing the file currently open. A second Craft article, on usage and limits, states plainly that cloud models count against a plan's session quota while on-device models, Apple's Foundation Model and LLaMA 3.2, are always free and unlimited, though those local models are read-only and cannot edit a document.
The friction
The usage-limits article discloses that editing tasks consume more quota than a read-only conversation, because the assistant reads the document, plans changes, and applies them as separate steps, and it recommends the faster model for simple edits to conserve quota. Free accounts get roughly fifteen to twenty-five sessions for the account's lifetime, not per month, and paid plans get a monthly or yearly allowance that does not roll over unused. Running out mid-project means buying a top-up pack, priced from ten to one hundred dollars, or switching to an on-device model that cannot edit.
What changed in the work
The documented change is that a Craft user can now ask a question about their whole space, not just the open page, and get sourced answers plus optional direct edits, where before that meant manually searching page by page. Whether that is faster than the old workflow is not something the documentation measures. The more defensible reading is that the quota system converts an editing habit into a metered resource the user has to watch, the same way a phone plan makes a person conscious of data used.
- Is the workflow relying on Execute-mode editing that is not yet available on Windows or web for this account?
- How much of the monthly session quota does a typical editing request consume compared with a read-only summary?
- Would switching simple, read-only queries to an on-device model preserve cloud quota for the edits that actually need it?
Craft's documentation is candid that AI editing is not free even on a paid plan; it is a metered allowance layered under a subscription that already covers the document editor itself. A team adopting the assistant for space-wide search should expect to budget separately for the editing half of the feature.
Sources & verification
Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.
- Using Craft AssistantSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Craft's own help article stating the assistant works at both document level and space level, and describing Explore versus Execute editing modes and platform differences.
- Usage & LimitsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Craft's own help article on how AI session quotas work by plan, that editing consumes more quota than read-only queries, and top-up pack pricing.
Continue the workflow
- Build a reusable writing brief before polishing the prompt
A compact, reusable specification for commissioning consistent writing without relying on a clever one-off prompt.
- Review the diff for altered facts, not just improved prose
A practical review pass for comparing document versions and finding factual changes hidden inside editorial revisions.
- Hand off an accessible document with structure intact
A human-centered final check for document structure, descriptive links, image alternatives, and usable delivery across formats.
- Notion's Autofill turns a table column into an AI setup decision
Notion's help documentation, read on 16 September 2026, sets Autofill's plan requirements, run triggers, and its own accuracy warning.