Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

The setup
Airtable's spreadsheet-database hybrid already stored a team's row-by-row work before generative AI arrived, so adding AI to a cell meant fitting a model call into an existing table rather than opening a separate app. The vendor's own help documentation on using Airtable AI in fields describes these as field agents: AI-powered fields that retrieve, analyze, or generate a value at the cell level, added to a formula, long text, linked-record, select, or number field. Field agents require any paid plan, plus AI credits allocated to the workspace and AI turned on at the workspace level by an owner.
What the documents show
The documentation states credit usage is not a flat per-field price. It varies with the length of input and output, and a preview window shows estimated consumption for the first record in view before a field is even created, with a warning that other records may cost more depending on their own content. Airtable's separate product page for Airtable AI quotes one precise figure for a different feature: asking Omni, the platform's app builder, an analysis question about a base costs 10 credits per response, while asking it to build or edit an app carries no stated additional cost. Only one of those two features has a fixed number.
The friction
The documentation discloses a specific batch limit: turning on automatic generation for a long text field across a table of thousands of records is still bounded by the credits available to the workspace, so some records may generate while others error out once a limit is hit mid-run. Word limits also apply by model tier, roughly 12,000 words of combined prompt and response on lower-powered models and about 90,000 on higher-powered ones, and enabling internet search inside a field agent often costs additional credits on top of the base action.
What changed in the work
For a team that previously exported rows to a separate summarization tool, the documented change is that the generated value now lives in the same table already used to track the work, referenced from other fields by inserting a token for that column. That is a real before-and-after in where output sits. Reading it as saving time would go beyond the documentation; the narrower, editorial reading is that review now happens in the same grid view as the record, not in a separate export.
- How many AI credits does the workspace currently have allocated, and who can see that balance before a bulk run starts?
- Does a field agent's custom instructions reference other fields that might carry information an admin would rather keep out of a model call?
- What happens to records left unprocessed if a bulk automatic-generation job exhausts the credit balance partway through?
Airtable's documentation treats field agents as a metered capability layered onto the base plan's existing cost, rather than a separate line item with a posted price, a deliberate design choice worth naming rather than assuming away. A team turning on automatic generation across a large table is, by the vendor's own account, taking on an open-ended credit exposure rather than a fixed add-on fee.
Sources & verification
Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.
- Using Airtable AI in fieldsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Airtable's own help documentation on how AI-powered field agents work, that credit usage depends on input and output length, and that automatic generation across many records is bounded by the workspace's credit balance.
- Introducing Airtable AssistantSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Airtable's own product page stating that Omni analysis questions cost 10 credits per response, a fixed figure that contrasts with the variable cost of field agents.
Continue the workflow
- Build a reusable writing brief before polishing the prompt
A compact, reusable specification for commissioning consistent writing without relying on a clever one-off prompt.
- Review the diff for altered facts, not just improved prose
A practical review pass for comparing document versions and finding factual changes hidden inside editorial revisions.
- Hand off an accessible document with structure intact
A human-centered final check for document structure, descriptive links, image alternatives, and usable delivery across formats.
- Notion's Autofill turns a table column into an AI setup decision
Notion's help documentation, read on 16 September 2026, sets Autofill's plan requirements, run triggers, and its own accuracy warning.