Historical source and event dates are not site publication dates. Product plans, policies and availability may have changed since retrieval.

The setup
Gemini Code Assist is Google's IDE coding assistant, and its own pricing page, retrieved 16 September 2026, describes two paid editions: Standard at $22.80 per user per month, or $19 annual, and Enterprise at $54 per user per month, or $45 annual. A third option, Gemini Code Assist for individuals, had offered a no-cost way into the same IDE extensions. Google's own documentation for that consumer tier records that this changed: starting 18 June 2026, the IDE extensions stopped serving requests for the individuals, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra tiers, including Gemini CLI, with Google account sign-in no longer available on that path.
What the documents show
The same page states plainly who is affected: a Standard or Enterprise subscription is explicitly unaffected, with IDE and CLI access unchanged. Users of the retired free tier are directed instead to what the page calls the Antigravity family of products, with its own pricing structure. On data handling, the paid-tier pricing page states its governance policy helps ensure customer code, inputs and generated recommendations will not be used to train shared models or develop products, a vendor claim about Standard and Enterprise specifically, not a description of how the discontinued free tier had been governed.
The friction
The consumer-tier notice is dated by its own footer to 2 September 2026 and points to a Google I/O announcement for the underlying decision, but does not restate the reasoning, only the effect and migration path. That leaves a gap for anyone who adopted the free tier because it required no subscription: the replacement line has its own quota and terms, described only by a link to separate Antigravity pricing, so the free-to-paid transition is not fully documented on the page announcing it.
What changed in the work
What the sources support is a narrowing: a company evaluating Gemini in an IDE without a paid seat lost that option in mid-2026, while teams already on Standard or Enterprise saw no change. The current product overview page, read alongside the pricing page, shows the free-tier framing has also left the vendor's own top-level documentation, which now describes only two editions. That is an editorial read worth stating plainly: the on-ramp for no-cost evaluation is gone, and what remains is a subscription decision from the first install.
- Has a team's Gemini Code Assist usage been confirmed as Standard or Enterprise, or was it running on the now-retired individual tier?
- What does the Antigravity pricing page state about quota limits compared with what the free tier previously allowed?
- Does the vendor's no-training statement for Standard and Enterprise appear anywhere in the migration guidance for the Antigravity products?
A pricing and access page that quietly narrows its own free path is itself a data point on how conditional a free-tier claim can be, and it is worth rechecking any setup that was built on one.
Sources & verification
Preserved from the earlier archive. These sources have not all been freshly rechecked for this expansion.
- Gemini Code Assist for teams and businessesSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Current Standard and Enterprise pricing and the vendor's data-governance statement that code and prompts are not used to train shared models.
- Gemini Code Assist consumer accountsSource date: not stated · Retrieved: 2026-09-16
Records the 18 June 2026 shutdown of the free individual tier's IDE extensions and CLI access, migration to Antigravity, and that Standard/Enterprise are unaffected.
Continue the workflow
- Reconcile a spreadsheet before writing the story around it
Check an imported or transformed spreadsheet before using its figures in analysis or client work.
- Validate the SQL answer before trusting the sentence
Review an analytical SQL query safely before using its output in a report or decision.
- Review an AI-assisted code change as a change, not a speed claim
Decide whether an AI-assisted patch is safe and maintainable without treating generation speed as evidence of quality.
- Amazon Q Developer folded CodeWhisperer into a wider assistant
AWS's own GA post describes automatic Java upgrades alongside a plan-then-insert step for building new code.